Recovery – Nikki Faitell

Nikki Faitell

Hi, my name is Nikki Faitell.  I have been a student with the Gelsey Kirkland Ballet Academy for the last two years. I have had such a wonderful and non-comparable experience, yet have suffered from injuries during my training.  These injuries have made me question my ability to continue such dedication to an art form that causes so much pain to my body.

Aside from stress fractures in both my second metatarsals and chronic tendonitis in both my hips, the most difficult and painful experience happened a couple months ago when I went to the doctor for a procedure on my big toe. The simple operation was intended to eliminate the pain caused by my ingrown toenail. The doctor told me my recovery could vary from one week to three weeks. There was no way around this procedure, as I could not put on a flat shoe without pain, let alone a pointe shoe.

Nikki Faitell and Rachelle di Stasio, doing some serious stretching at the GKA Studios

Waiting in the doctor’s office before the surgery was extremely nerve-racking. I mainly feared the four nova canes that had to be injected into each side of my toe! I squeezed my mother’s hand as the first needle went in. The surgery lasted no more than an hour, and I was allowed to return home with my numb toe. As I look back on this procedure, the second Novocain was the most pain I had ever experienced in my life. I would soon discover that he had hit a nerve in the process of giving me that second needle. Every time I would move or touch my toe, it felt as if I was being electrocuted. The not exactly reassuring words the doctor used were, “this hasn’t happened in a long time!”

After weeks of uncertainty, medications, and discourage, the electrocuting sensations diminished. I thought I would be able to dance again! I clearly remember that first class attempting to return back on pointe. I still was unable to put my flat shoes on without having to cut a hole around the toe. The pain going on pointe was excruciating…even more so than with the ingrown nail. I returned to the doctor, and he did not understand.

I went to several other doctors to see what could be the problems, and no one really understood. Finally, one of my podiatrists decided to give me an x-ray on my toe. The x-ray showed that I had a curved bone my first two toes, and as a result of the surgical procedure to remove the nail permanently, there was no nail there to provide protection for the bone. I was devastated and confused all at the same time. I had to drop out of most of my parts in the show. The doctor said it could possibly get better, but he wouldn’t know for a couple of months…just enough time to ruin my chance of participating in the summer intensive.

Caravaggio Ladies at the end of year performance

With help from my friends, family, and the faculty and GKA, I was able to make it through the end of the year. While my friends were in rehearsals that I had once been a part of, I would go to the gym across the street from the studios, and hot yoga up at Yoga to the People. During my recovery period, I discovered new ways to connect my body and spirit.  Although this time was filled with pain, tears, frustration, and disappointment, I truly believe it has made me stronger, not only in the dancing field, but more importantly, as a person.

Written by, Nikki Faitell

Nikki worked hard on her recovery and was able to join GKA on stage for the final performance of “Elusive Dreams” in the Neapolitan dance.

Comments
2 Responses to “Recovery – Nikki Faitell”
  1. So sorry you had to go through this awful ordeal Nikki! There are not many doctors that understand dancers, so your story is not unusual. But, congratulations on your strength and determination to keep going and rise above it.

Leave a comment